Artist biog


Manchester's finest make a welcome return with La Petite Mort, their first full-length studio album since 2008’s critically acclaimed Hey Ma. Produced by Max Dingel (Killers, Muse, White Lies), and written in Manchester, Lisbon, Athens and the Scottish Highlands, this new disc ranks among the finest and most diverse in their 30 year career. Highlights include the mighty first single Moving On, anthemic Curse Curse, and Frozen Britain, which was unleashed onto the airwaves and internet from late February. Max Dingel is the latest in a long line of first class producers the band have worked with including Brian Eno, Gil Norton and Youth. From first signing with the infamous Factory Records, to an illustrious career of albums released through Rough Trade, Sire Records and Mercury, James have now agreed an exciting new joint venture label partnership with BMG Chrysalis and indie label Cooking Vinyl. La Petite Mort was recorded in the wake of Tim Booth losing his mother and best friend in quick succession and understandably many of the songs deal with mortality. In spite of that, La Petite Mort, is an incredibly uplifting record. “La Petite Mort has sprung from writing sessions in Athens, Lisbon, the Scottish Highlands and the tropical paradise of Ancoats. We have had a long, sometimes toughicult [sic] but exciting journey, and it’s been oh so very fruitful and rewarding. “It is an album that has stretched us and the songs and pushed us to new heights in craftsmanship and intensity, ably captured by producer Maximilian Dingel.” - Jim Glennie James are: Tim Booth (vocals), Jim Glennie (bass), Larry Gott (guitars), Saul Davies (guitar, violin), Mark Hunter (keyboards), David Baynton-Power (drums) and Andy Diagram (trumpet).

James info >> Ticketmaster >>