Artist biog


Howler To Release Second Album ‘World Of Joy’ On 24th March 2014

Minneapolis four-piece Howler are set to release their second album ‘World Of Joy’ on 24th March this year. It is the follow-up to their well-received debut ‘America Give Up’ (2012) which featured the singles ‘Told You Once’ and ‘Back Of Your Neck’ and saw the band tour the UK extensively with The Vaccines, headline the NME Generation Next Tour as well as headline their own sold out UK tour. 

Having recruited new member Rory MacMurdo on drums, Howler’s second album was written and recorded in Minneapolis at The Terrarium studio with ‘America Give Up’ producer Chris Heidman. 

 Howler is the brainchild of 21-year-old Jordan Gatesmith, who says of ‘World Of Joy’:

“The songs and the record, ultimately, became accounts of Ian, Max, Rory, and I living and dreaming passionately. The record is supposed to be almost like a jukebox at some sloppy bar in Minneapolis playing things like: Thin Lizzy, The Replacements, The Modern Lovers, Kiss, The Smiths, The Stooges, and other randomly assorted bands. It's a tribute to our love of rock n roll and to the lineage of that genre we so admire.”
‘World Of Joy’ Tracklisting:

1.Al’s Coral
3.Don’t Wanna
4.Yacht Boys
5.In The Red
6.World Of Joy
8.Here’s The Itch That Creeps Through My Skull
10. Aphorismic Wasteland Blues

 Q – ‘Irresistible’ 4/5
NME – ‘An effortlessly brilliant debut from one of the best new guitar bands on the planet’ 8/10
The Fly – ‘America’s next great guitar group’ 4/5
The Observer – ‘Desperate for a real rock band? Howler are just the thing’ (Album of the Week)

Howler is Jordan Gatesmith (vocals/guitar), Ian Nygaard (guitar), Max Petrek (bass/keyboards) and Rory MacMurdo (drums). 

Howler info >> Ticketmaster >>